The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is the premier regional grouping in Southeast Asia.

ASEAN aims to promote political, economic and social cooperation and regional stability. ASEAN was formed in 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam, Vietnam, Lao PDR, Myanmar and Cambodia joined in later years to make up today’s ten Member States of ASEAN.

ASEAN activities are coordinated by the ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta, Indonesia. In 2015, ASEAN declared the ASEAN Community, with the aim of ensuring Southeast Asia is an integrated, prosperous and stable region. The Community includes the ASEAN Economic Community as well as the Socio-Cultural and Political-Security Communities.





Did you know?

Did Youy know Facts



National flags of the Member States of ASEAN


ASEAN Member States Flags

More information